To use IBM Cognos product documentation, you must enable JavaScript in your browser.
You are here: Deployment > Deployment Planning > Deploying the Entire Content Store

Deploying the Entire Content Store

Deploying the entire content store ensures that all packages, folders, and directory content are copied to a new location.

For example, if you are changing the computer where IBM Cognos software is installed, you can move the entire content store from the old environment to the new environment and keep all the reports and other entries created by administrators and users.

Other reasons to deploy the entire content store include:

When you move a content store from one environment to another, you must use the same namespaces for policies, users, roles, and groups to work correctly.

When you deploy the entire content store, if there are no conflicts, the contents of the target content store are removed and replaced by the contents of the source content store, except for configuration data. The imported entries keep the owners from the source content store. For information about conflict resolution, see Conflict Resolution Rules.

After the deployment is complete, some links for packages associated with reports may not work. You may need to relink packages to reports. For information about linking packages to reports, see the documentation for the studios.

Instead of deploying the entire content store, you can deploy only specific public folders and directory content Deploying Selected Public Folders and Directory Content .

Content Store

The content store includes all entries in the portal, such as:

It does not include the deployment history Deployment History. Configuration objects Configuration Information such as dispatchers, are included in exports by default, but excluded in imports.

If you want to deploy users' personal folders and personal pages, you must choose to include the user account information when you export and import.

Deployment History

When you export an entire content store, the export and import deployment specifications that exist in the source content store are exported. Their deployment histories are not exported.

Later, when you import the entire content store, you also import the export and import deployment specifications. You do not see entries in the View the deployment history page for the imported specifications.

If any of the imported deployment specifications are used for an encrypted deployment archive, you can delete them. To import an entire content store the first time, you must create a new import deployment specification.

By default, the information saved in deployment records includes the progress and summary reports only. If you want to include more detailed information, change the recording level using the advanced setting CM.DEPLOYMENTDETAILENTIRECONTENT. Use the steps in Setting Advanced Content Manager Parameters. More recording levels are available in partial deployment Recording Deployment Details.

Configuration Information

When you import an entire content store, configuration data is included in the export, but excluded from the import by default. We recommend that you do not change this setting. However, if you must import configuration settings, you can change the default in the Advanced Settings Include Configuration Objects in Import of Entire Content Store .

If you import the configuration data, especially in a distributed environment with multiple content managers, the current information about the content manager status may be overwritten by the imported data.

If you import the configuration, restart the service in the target environment to update status information properly.

For information about including configuration data in the import, see Include Configuration Objects in Import of Entire Content Store .

For information about how specific objects in the content store are imported, see Conflict Resolution Rules For Deploying the Entire Content Store.

 

Print topic | | Pronto Plus

730 (version 1) © Pronto Software